

Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building 100 E. First Street P.O. Box 2511 Winston-Salem, NC 27102 CityLink **311** (336.727.8000) Fax 336.748.3163 www.cityofws.org/planning TO: Tiffany Harris

- FROM: Michelle M. McCullough, Historic Resources Staff
- **DATE:** October 26, 2021
- SUBJECT: Demolitions for November 9, 2021 Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee Meeting

Historic Resources staff has reviewed the seven properties that are scheduled to go before the Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee on November 9, 2021 for demolition consideration. Per the list provided by Community Development, the proposed demolitions are:

- 1. 1206 23rd Street Burned
- 2. 1849 Kentucky Avenue
- 3. 1340 Bridgton Road
- 4. 526 Lockland Avenue Burned

Local Historic Landmarks or Local Historic/Historic Overlay Districts

None of the buildings are Local Historic Landmarks or located within locally designated historic districts.

National Register Historic Districts

The house at 526 Lockland Avenue is in the Ardmore Historic District. However, the house has had a fire and requires demolition for the safety of the community. None of the other buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places individually or as part of a district.

cc Marla Newman, Director, Community Development Sharon Richmond, Deputy Director, Community Development Preservation Forsyth



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Denise D. Adams, Mayor Pro Tempore, North Ward; Barbara Hanes Burke, Northeast Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Kevin Mundy, Southwest Ward; Annette Scippio, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

City-County Planning Board: Chris Leak, Chair; Melynda Dunigan, Vice Chair; George M. Bryan, Jr.; Jason Grubbs; Tommy Hicks; Clarence R. Lambe, Jr.; Johnny Sigers; Brenda J. Smith; Jack Steelman

County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair, Fleming El-Amin; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Tonya McDaniel; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.