



Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building 100 E. First Street P.O. Box 2511 Winston-Salem, NC 27102 CityLink 311 (336.727.8000) Fax 336.748.3163 TO: Tiffany Harris

FROM: Historic Resources Staff

DATE: January 29, 2019

SUBJECT: Demolitions for February 12, 2019

Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee

Meeting

Historic Resources staff has reviewed the 5 properties that are scheduled to go before the Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee on February 12, 2019 for demolition consideration. None of the buildings are Local Historic Landmarks or located within local historic districts.

Properties located in National Register Historic Districts: 709 Goldfloss Street – Waughtown-Belview Historic District

Generally, Historic Resources staff has concerns about the loss of structures in the City's National Register Historic Districts. However, the Community Development Department reports that this house has burned. If demolition for this structure is approved, Historic Resources staff requests that the Community Development Department have the structures professionally photo-documented and submit the photos to the Forsyth County Historic Resources Commission.

Recent discussions at City Council and Council Committee meetings have indicated a concern for the loss of structures in historically African-American neighborhoods. For Council Members' information, I have identified structures from the list that are in historically African-American neighborhoods, as documented by the latest survey of Winston-Salem's historic resources.

Properties located in historically African-American neighborhoods:

2400 Druid Hills Drive (Accessory Building) - Bon Air /

Greenway Place

cc Marla Newman, Director, Community Development Sharon Richmond, Deputy Director, Community Development



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Vivian H. Burke, Mayor Pro Tempore, Northeast Ward; Denise D. Adams, North Ward; Dan Besse, Southwest Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Annette Scippio, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair, Fleming El-Amin; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Tonya McDaniel; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.

City-County Planning Board: Arnold G. King, Chair; Chris Leak, Vice-Chair; George M. Bryan, Jr.; Melynda Dunigan; Jason Grubbs; Tommy Hicks; Clarence R. Lambe, Jr.; Johnny Sigers; Brenda J. Smith

Preservation Forsyth