

Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building 100 E. First Street P.O. Box 2511 Winston-Salem, NC 27102 CityLink **311** (336.727.8000) Fax 336.748.3163 TO: Tiffany Harris
FROM: Michelle M. McCullough
DATE: August 30, 2018
SUBJECT: Demolitions for September 11, 2018
Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee Meeting

Historic Resources staff has reviewed the four properties that are scheduled to go before the Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee on September 11, 2018 for demolition consideration. None of the properties are listed or eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places at this time.

Additionally, recent discussions at City Council and Council Committee meetings have indicated a concern for the loss of structures in historically African-American neighborhoods. None of the properties are located in historically African-American neighborhoods as presented in the latest survey documentation.

cc Marla Newman, Director, Community Development Sharon Richmond, Deputy Director, Community Development Preservation Forsyth



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Vivian H. Burke, Mayor Pro Tempore, Northeast Ward; Denise D. Adams, North Ward; Dan Besse, Southwest Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Derwin L. Montgomery, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair, Fleming El-Amin; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; Everette Witherspoon; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.