RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2018 CITY OF WINSTON-SALEM UNIVERSITY GRADUATES

WHEREAS, there are 20 City residents who have successfully completed City of Winston-Salem University: Sara Blackburn, Alexandra B. Bolick, Nathan Borne, Joshua Shane Canzona, James Artega Carter, Brittney Gaspari, Mary S. Giunca, Michael E. Green, Sonja V. Harry, Judy Hotchkiss, Ashley Johnson, Zina Johnson, Shannon Marie Little, Akwete McAlister, Mary Millis McLaughlin, London Mickle, Sydney Richardson, Scott Self, Allison Smith, and Mary Margaret Smith; and

WHEREAS, the 12 week course work has included over 30 hours covering 17 City departments and divisions, completing a ride along with either the Winston-Salem Fire Department or the Winston-Salem Police Department, attending at least one City Council or Committee meeting, participating in either the 2014 Bond Bus Tour, a tour of the Elledge Waste Water Treatment Plant, Waste Management's Material Recovery Center, or City Link, and completing a budget project; and

WHEREAS, James Artega Carter, Sonja V. Harry, Akwete McAlister, and London Mickle will earn three continuing education units from Winston-Salem State University based on their course work; and

WHEREAS, the dedication of all 20 graduates has resulted in a better understanding and appreciation of City government and has given them the resources to better serve their communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and the Winston-Salem City Council hereby approve honoring the aforementioned 2018 City of Winston-Salem University graduates and wish them much success in their future as community leaders.