



Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building 100 E. First Street P.O. Box 2511 Winston-Salem, NC 27102 CityLink 311 (336.727.8000) Fax 336.748.3163 **TO:** Tiffany Harris

FROM: Michelle M. McCullough

DATE: April 2, 2018

SUBJECT: Demolitions for April 10, 2018

Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee

Meeting

Historic Resources staff has reviewed the 10 properties that are scheduled to go before the Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee on April 10, 2018 for demolition consideration. Below is a list of contributing structures in National Register of Historic Places districts.

Properties located in National Register Historic Districts: 2633 Peachtree Street – Waughtown-Belview Historic District

Historic Resources staff has concerns about the loss of structures in the City's National Register Historic Districts; therefore, I have sent notice to Preservation Forsyth, the local Historic Preservation non-profit organization to advise them of this potential loss. Their mission is to promote, protect, and advocate for Historic Resources in Forsyth County. None of the buildings are designated a Local Historic Landmark or located within designated local historic districts. If demolition for these structures are approved, Historic Resources staff would like to request that the Community and Business Development Department have the structures professionally photo-documented, submitting the photos to the Forsyth County Historic Resources Commission and any architectural elements be salvaged from the house prior to demolition.

cc Marla Newman, Director, Community Development Sharon Richmond, Deputy Director, Community Development Preservation Forsyth



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Vivian H. Burke, Mayor Pro Tempore, Northeast Ward; Denise D. Adams, North Ward; Dan Besse, Southwest Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Derwin L. Montgomery, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair, Fleming El-Amin; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; Everette Witherspoon; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.