Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building 100 E. First Street P.O. Box 2511 Winston-Salem, NC 27102 CityLink **311** (336.727.8000) Fax 336.748.3163 TO: Tiffany Harris
FROM: Michelle M. McCullough
DATE: August 1, 2017
SUBJECT: Demolitions for August 15, 2017 Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee Meeting

Historic Resources staff has reviewed the five properties that are scheduled to go before the Community Development/Housing/General Government Committee on August 15, 2017 for demolition consideration. Below is a list of contributing structures in National Register of Historic Places districts.

Properties located in National Register Historic Districts: 2414 Waughtown Street - Waughtown/Belview Historic District

Historic Resources staff has concerns about the loss of structures in the City's National Register Historic Districts; however, in this case three of the five structures on the list have been destroyed by fire. 2414 Waughtown Street, the property listed in the Waughtown-Belview Historic District is one of those structures. Therefore, there is no request for further action due to the historic value of the properties.

cc Ritchie Brooks, Director, Community and Business Development Preservation Forsyth



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Vivian H. Burke, Mayor Pro Tempore, Northeast Ward; Denise D. Adams, North Ward; Dan Besse, Southwest Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Derwin L. Montgomery, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair, Fleming El-Amin; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; Everette Witherspoon; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.