RESOLUTION HONORING WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY NATIONAL CHAMPION DEBATE TEAM

WHEREAS, the Wake Forest University Debate Team won the American Debate Association national championship in March 2023; and

WHEREAS, Debate Team members Ana Bittner, an English major from Lafayette, CA, and Ari Davidson, a Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies major from Los Angeles, CA defeated the University of Kentucky to become national champions at the American Debate Association tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Wake Forest University Debate Team won the National Debate Tournament in April 2023; and

WHEREAS, Debate Team members Tajaih Robinson, a Communication major from New York, New York and Iyana Trotman, an African American Studies and Secondary Education major from Newark, New Jersey defeated the University of Michigan to become national champions at the National Debate Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Wake Forest junior Iyana Trotman was the youngest Black student to ever win the National Debate Tournament;

WHEREAS, the Wake Forest University Debate team had members who were cochampions of the Cross-Examination Debate Association national championship in April 2023; and

WHEREAS, Debate Team members Ana Bittner and Ari Davidson comprised one cochampion team and Tajaih Robinson and Iyana Trotman comprised the other co-championship team; and

WHEREAS, the team, led by Dr. Jarrod Atchison, the John Kevin Medica Director of Debate; Head Coach Justin Green and Associate Head Coach Dr. Amber Kelsie, won an unprecedented three national debate championships in 2023;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and City Council of Winston-Salem do hereby recognize the Wake Forest University Debate Team for these three national honors and applaud both the students and coaches for their historic wins during the 2022-2023 season.