



TO: Community Development/Housing/General

Government Committee Members

FROM: Kelly Bennett **DATE:** May 9, 2017

SUBJECT: Recommendations for Convention Center Public Art

In February, the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Public Art Commission issued a request for proposals for public art at the Benton Convention Center. There are 19 sites that have been identified in the building for public art displays. The commission received 45 proposals from 35 artists, including artists from Winston-Salem and throughout North Carolina. In March, an evaluation committee of the Commission reviewed the proposals and have selected ten finalists, six of whom are Winston-Salem artists.

Site 1: Nico Amortegui, a mural painter from Charlotte, will create a pair of murals that will relate to each other and highlight

Site 2: Dennis Wells, of Winston-Salem, will create a portrait of Maya Angelou that is constructed of her owns words. The portrait will be printed approximately 11' x 14'.

Prefunction Space: Potter Joseph Sand, of Randleman, will create a large-scale ceramics display.

Site 3: Scott Sanders, of Winston-Salem, will create two abstract digital paintings that are 8' x 4' each.

Site 4: Lea Lackey-Zachmann, of Winston-Salem will paint portraits of two trees, one from Salem and one from Winston. Each painting will be 4' x 9'.

Site 7: Photographer Christine Rucker, who lives in East Bend and works in Winston-Salem, is providing a photograph of a dancer in the Yadkin River, printed approximately 20' x 10'.

Site 8: Winston-Salem painter Paul Uttaro is creating an abstract painting of 432 4" x 4" squares that will mimic a colorful textile.

Site 11: Winston-Salem photographer Owens Daniels is providing five portraits of Winston-Salem musicians printed on canvas.

Site 17: Wilmington painter James Biederman is painting four uniquely shaped abstracts to be displayed together.

Elevator Bay of Lower Level: Gina Franco, of Greensboro, will work with Brad Cornelison to create an abstract collage constructed of salvaged wood.



City Council: Mayor Allen Joines; Vivian H. Burke, Mayor Pro Tempore, Northeast Ward; Denise D. Adams, North Ward; Dan Besse, Southwest Ward; Robert C. Clark, West Ward; John C. Larson, South Ward; Jeff MacIntosh, Northwest Ward; Derwin L Montgomery, East Ward; James Taylor, Jr., Southeast Ward; City Manager: Lee D. Garrity

Forsyth County Commissioners: David R. Plyler, Chairman; Don Martin, Vice Chair; Ted Kaplan; Richard V. Linville; Walter Marshall; Gloria D. Whisenhunt; Everette Witherspoon; County Manager: Dudley Watts, Jr.