## Resolution Honoring The 2017 City Of Winston-Salem University Graduates

WHEREAS, there are 21 City residents who have successfully completed City of Winston-Salem University: Elaine Bevels, Matthew Bolick, Susan I. Britt, James B. Caldwell, Nina Chan, Theodis A. Chunn Jr., John N. Dimling, Cindy Dukes, Marianne Erhardt, Jennifer Filipowski, Mary Ford, Kim Gondring, Jordan Gwyn, Carissa Hanson, John C. Larson, Emily Masters, James I. McRavion Sr., Lalique R. Metz, Cynthia Rucker, Deven Swartz; and

WHEREAS, the 12 week course work has included over 30 hours covering 17 City departments and divisions, having completed a ride along with either the Winston-Salem Fire Department or the Winston-Salem Police Department, attending at least one City Council or Committee meeting, participating in either the 2014 Bond Bus Tour, a tour of the Elledge Waste Water Treatment Plant, Waste Management's Material Recovery Center, or City Link, and completing a budget project; and

WHEREAS, Susan I. Britt, and James I. McRavion Sr. will earn three continuing education units from Winston-Salem State University based on their course work; and

**WHEREAS**, the dedication of all 21 graduates has resulted in a better understanding and appreciation of City government and has given them the resources to better serve their communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor and the Winston-Salem City Council hereby approve honoring the aforementioned 2017 City of Winston-Salem University graduates and wish them much success in their future as community leaders.